Changed My Life

What was the one experience that completely changed your life? What happened? How did it change your life?

There are several things that come to mind when asked this question. One of which I believe I’ve already blogged about and that was the passing of my father in 2005. So another experience that changed my life had to be the day I got saved and asked Jesus into my life.

I was six years old and we lived in South Carolina at the time. My dad was a pastor and going to church was not an option growing up. And to this day it still isn’t. (More on that later.) I don’t remember the exact date, but I do remember it being very cold! I had asked my dad a few days earlier if I could get saved. He always asked my why to be sure I understood what being saved meant. I never really replied any thing of importance until that day.

It was Tuesday morning. I had asked my dad on Sunday and he said to wait a couple of days to see if I was serious. Well I sure was. That morning when I woke, I ran to my dad and told him I wanted to get saved. He knew then I was serious. So we walked to the church and on the left side of the alter, my dad led me in a prayer to accept Christ as my Savior. It wasn’t the prayer that saved me but it was the belief in my heart! It completely changed my life! I went to school telling everyone what had happened. To this day it is still the best thing that happened in my life and changed me forever!

On that day I became God’s Child. My whole life changed. And though I was younger it may not have affected me like it would have if I was a teenager; in that I may have had more things to change at 16 then at the age of 6. But none the less I was changed. So many people don’t understand the true meaning of being a Christian and a Child of God, but because of a loving family who showed me, I was saved at an early age. I am so grateful for all God has done for me in my life.

About the church thing, I am now 22 years old and I do not live in my parents house. When I was younger I went to church because I had to, but now I go because I want to and I know that as a Christian I need church. I need to be fed God’s Word. I also need the fellowship of other Christians. So accepting Christ in my heart, changed my life for the better. And I would not change anything!

Leave a comment